Nutrition and dietary needs

Discussion about anything and everything.
Ragman

Nutrition and dietary needs

Post by Ragman » 9 years ago

I have been fighting overweight for twenty years, so last month I started research, with a therapist, to find out what I needed to do to lose weight. Since October 22nd, when my body hit a new level of disability, I have gained twenty pounds - a massive amount for so short a time.

Using what ever calculus the nutritionist perfected, it would seem that I have a need for less than 800 calories, per day - this is the amount I am able to burn, in my totally sedentary existence, and allow for the consumption of some of the fat I am covered with  - I cannot exercise, I cannot move the large calorie burning muscles, so I need far less fuel to exist than does any person with ability to move those muscles. I need fuel for slow careful movements of my arms, equally slow careful movements of my hands and fingers, and the occasional high effort of moving in bed or my chair. Nothing else.

This takes about two hundred calories in total, which when added to the 550 of my heart and circulation, the 200 of my respiratory system, and the 200 probably expended by my non violent hyperkinetic motion we come to a total calorific demand of one thousand one hundred and fifty calories.
By restricting my intake to 800 or so calories, I can make a 350 calorie demand on my fat reserves - this would allow the reduction of one pound a week maximum. If I try to increase movement without triggering spasm, I may be able to burn another 200 calories a day, which would relate to 8 ounces further weight loss, per week.

This is my target, all I need do is see if I can follow this regime.

Ragman

I spent a couple of hours chatting with a nutritionist  on Monday, and discussed all my concerns. She told me that yes, I need less calories, but went on to discuss the different diets that can benefit a disabled person.